Google adds 30 new languages to voice commands

Google has just added a huge update to the Google Keyboard and the Google search apps. Starting today, both the Google apps will now support 30 new languages along with the already existing list of languages.

google adds 30 new languages to voice commands

While Google already had typing support in these apps for different native languages, this is the first time it is adding voice support. This means you might be able to communicate with the Google app by doing voice search and dictate text in your mother tongue.

The following are the 30 new languages that has been added to Google voice support,

  • Amharic (Ethiopia)
  • Armenian (Armenia)
  • Azerbaijani (Azerbaijani)
  • Bengali (Bangladesh, India)
  • English (Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, Tanzania)
  • Georgian (Georgia)
  • Gujarati (India)
  • Javanese (Indonesia)
  • Kannada (India)
  • Khmer (Cambodian)
  • Lao (Laos)
  • Latvian (Latvia)
  • Malayalam (India)
  • Marathi (India)
  • Nepali (Nepal)
  • Sinhala (Sri Lanka)
  • Sundanese (Indonesia)
  • Swahili (Tanzania, Kenya)
  • Tamil (India, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Malaysia)
  • Telugu (India)
  • Urdu (Pakistan, India)

This list includes some of the popular languages in India, Indonesia, Srilanka and Africa. Google has reportedly joined together with native people and have trained their machine learning algorithm by using their voice samples. This would help the Voice recognition to clearly understand multiple dialects.

Hello! I am Raja, a tech enthusiast who loves to read and write anything related to technology. I listen to music and watch a lot of movies and TV series during my free time. I am an ambivert and I am funny sometimes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

You Might Like

Thing you should check

How To

Best Of